top of page
  • Skylar Nightingale

Mine Forever: The Beginning (Chapter 9)




Chapter 9 - Javon 
9-Years-Old

I felt empty and wondered if she felt the same. I missed her. She was all I could think about. I wailed loudly throughout the day. My mom tried to console me, and my dad was out of town. I needed him even more during that time.

The next couple of days, I walked around in a trance. I would get over this. I would get over this. I chanted those words every day. But time seemed endless. I took out my bike and rode past her house. She wasn't outside. I continued riding fast and hard. Then, my phone dinged. I didn't look at it. Instead, I rode until my legs were sore. I got off and limped past her house.


"Why are you riding your bike?" she shouted from her porch.


"Why do you care?" I asked.


"Because I do."


"Then come here," I said, waving her over.


"No. You said you'd stop riding." She folded her arms over her chest.


"You said you'd be my best friend forever. Things change." I shrugged.


She wept, dashing inside the house.


I went inside the house and fell onto the bed. I looked at my phone. There was a text from Billie, asking me to stop riding my bike. I smiled because she really did care. She was watching me. Maybe if I ignored her completely, she would come back. Could I do that? I got another text from her.


Billie: Jerkface. Why do you want to hurt yourself?


Me: I'm a jerk face? You're no better. Leave me alone.


Billie: Gladly. And stay off your bike.


Me: No. I'm gonna ride it now.


Billie: No you're not.


Me: Yes I am.


Even though I was still in pain, I got on my bike and rode past her house. She was on her porch, folding her arms. I stopped riding, placed my legs on the ground to balance, and just stared.

"Billie, stop playing games. Just come over here," I said.


"No. You're a horrible friend."


"This is going to keep happening. I'm going to keep riding my bike past your house, so just get over here, please."


"No. Go home."


"If I leave, that's it. I'm not going to ask for you to be in my life anymore. It's over."


"Bye Javon."


She went into the house. That was it. I could do it. I could get over the friendship. I had to.

The next day in school I ignored her. I didn't look at her. I didn't do anything. I stayed to myself. I was stronger than I thought. The next day, the same thing. No Billie. I was doing it. The next day, I did it again. Ignoring her in school was becoming easier. Plus, I had a few people to talk to. The next day, the same. Then, she walked past my house. Ignore her, I thought. I did. I didn't text her or call her. I let her do whatever it was she was doing. I was finally breaking free. I started taking long walks but away from her house. I needed time to think and release her from my mind. It was working. I was beginning to feel so much better. It almost felt like I didn't need her. I wasn't quite there but almost.


During recess, the cars were in Billie's lap, but she wasn't playing with them. Instead, her head was buried in her hands. Nope. I was going to ignore her. I was doing so well. I don't need her. She was fine without me. But she looked so sad. My heart felt torn and I couldn't let her sit there like that. So, I sat down beside her.


"Are you okay?" I asked.


"No." Her voice was muffled. "I miss my best friend."


I nodded and the tears slid down my face.


"I miss you too," I said.


"Why? I've been so mean."


"You can't help yourself. You're a mean person." I gave a slight chuckle.


She took her hands off her wet face and leaned into me, playfully.


"Billie, I'm sorry I didn't defend you."


"It's okay. I shouldn't rely on you so much to defend me. I'm sorry I was so mean."


"But I said I would protect you and I didn't. I'm sorry."


"You can't always protect me." She sniffled.


"I'll try to do better," I said. "I was feeling pretty competitive that night. Maybe I was just taking it in, that we won. I don't know. I should've responded."


"It's okay, Javon. It's not even your fault. You didn't even say anything. You weren't being mean to me. I was being mean to you."


"Yeah, you were pretty mean." I nodded.


"I know. I'm sorry. But I need you too."


My stomach swirled with excitement.


"Is that why you walked past my house?" I asked.


"Yeah, I just wanted to be close to you without being close to you."


I smiled.


"Friends?" she stuck out her hand.


"Friends." I pulled her to me and hugged her tight. I cried into afro puff, and she cried into my shirt.


Then, Mrs. Ward told us it was time to come in.


"Billie, I'm sorry I cried into your hair," I said, releasing her.


"Ew, Javon." She smiled at me.


Wow. I could never let go of that smile. It was permanently stitched into my heart. I helped her put the cars away and we went inside.


My mom was right. She came around. It was only a matter of time. She needed me just as much as I needed her. And for that, I was so grateful.

Archive
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect with me
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page