top of page
  • Skylar Nightingale

Mine Forever: The Beginning (Chapter 3)

Updated: Sep 25, 2020



Chapter 3 - Javon


Eight-Years-Old


I unlocked the window and helped her inside. 


"Billie, what are you doing here?" I asked, peering at her face, then down at her button up long sleeve and pants PJ's. Kittens' designs were patterned throughout the top and bottom, and the material seemed soft but thin. I'm sure wearing them inside the house was fine, but I'm doubtful they were warm enough for the weather outside. Even though it was warming up, there was still a massive chill in the night air. 


"Um...I wanted to see you," she said, breaking my pajama thoughts. 


"You can get in trouble," I warned with wide eyes.


"I'll leave really early."


I looked at my closed room door. I thought about the consequences if I got caught with her in my room. I didn't want either of us to get into trouble, but I wanted her to stay. I closed my window.


"Okay. But we can't do this again," I said, taking her hand, and sitting on the bed.


"Okay," she agreed, nodding.


"Uh... do you want me to lay on the bed with you?" I scratched my head while my eyes darted back and forth, nervously.


"Of course, silly," Billie said. She lay on my bed and slid under the covers. I stared at her, putting my hand on her shoulder.


"Are you okay?" she asked.


"Yeah." I nodded, slowly.


Sitting up, I pulled my legs to my chest, wrapping my arms around them. She lay on her side looking at me. And I felt my heart banging in my chest. Why was I feeling like this? She didn't fall asleep. She just watched me. I finally laid down next to her. Then, she popped up, sitting up straight. "You're right. This is weird. I should go," she said.

Now that I had gotten comfortable with the idea, she wanted to leave.


"Billie. No. Please stay." I clutched her hand.


"I'm sorry, Javon. I shouldn't have come. This is weird to be in your bed, right?"

"A little." I nodded.


"What was I thinking?" she put her hand on her head. "I'm so sorry. I have to go."


I nodded, still holding her hand. I helped her out the window and walked her to hers.

She hugged me and I helped her inside. "


Thank you," she said.


"Of course."


I walked back to my window, feeling sleepy. I lay in bed, but I couldn't sleep. My sheets smelled sweet like apples and berries. I lay there thinking about her. It was so nice that she thought about me that much that she wanted to stay with me in my room. I wanted to see her too. I don't know why I didn't think of going to her window first. I tossed and turned, trying to remove the idea from my mind. Then, I slid on my shoes and walked over to her window. She opened it and I climbed inside. She backed away from me. Her wide eyes searched mine nervously.

"It's okay." I grabbed her hand and we lay in the bed. We faced each other. It wasn't that different from the sleeping bags except we could easily invade one another's space. We put space between us, but we were still able to see each other faces thanks to the shining light outside her window. We stared at one another before falling asleep. The next morning, she poked me awake. I gave her a hug and slipped out her window.


We had school that morning. And we were both extremely tired. My mom drove me to school.


"Javon why are you so tired? You went to bed at the normal time," my mom said.


"Oh, I just couldn't sleep," I said.


"Well, try to get to get some tonight."


I had planned on it. I didn't think that it was a good idea for Billie and me to make a habit out of visiting each other during the school week. Last night, I felt a little uneasy at first. My stomach felt so strange as I lay beside her. Then, I was comfortable, and I didn't want to be away from her.

__________________


While Billie was at her cubby in the hallway at school, I talked to her.

"We can't do that again," I said groggily.

"I know. I'm so tired." She leaned into my chest. I put my hand on her back. We were both so sleepy. I don't think I heard much of the lesson for the day.


Billie came over to my house after school. When we walked in, I fell on one couch, and Billie fell on the other. I don't know how long we slept, but I awoke to the smell of dinner. We woke up and stretched. We still had homework to complete, so we started right away. My mom walked into the living room, looking at us suspiciously.

"Okay. I hope you guys weren't up all night talking," she said with a raised eyebrow.

"No. We weren't," I said. It was true we weren't talking. We were trying to sleep.


That night, we slept in our own beds. I fell asleep immediately, but my thoughts of her were not far away.


That weekend, Billie went away to visit her relatives. I missed her. I tried to keep my mind off her but it didn't work. To make matters worse, my dad wasn't in town. I helped my mom cook, read a couple of books, watched TV and played video games.


When Billie returned, she called me and told me about her trip. That night, I went to her window. I said I wasn't going to make a habit of it and I wasn't. It was just one more night.

I hugged her and laid down on the bed.

"I know that we're not going to do this again," Billie said. "But I'm going to keep my window unlocked in case you want to visit me." Her voice was small and sweet.

"You sure?" I asked, feeling my stomach do strange things again.

"Yeah."

"Okay. I will too," I said.

We shook hands. I went to sleep, holding her hand.


The next day was a school day. I felt rested. I snuck back into my window, got ready for the day, and asked my mom to take me to school. She agreed to drive me. As we drove past the bus stop, we saw Billie waiting there with her dad. We stopped and asked if she wanted a ride. When I waited with her during the week, her parents didn't come with her to the bus stop. But since she was going to be alone today, I guessed that her dad decided to wait with her. Billie's dad agreed that she could ride with us. She hopped into the car, and her dad waved goodbye. Billie still seemed tired. She fell asleep on the way to school. And I woke her up when we arrived.

"Billie, get some sleep tonight," my mom told her.


"I will. Thanks for the ride," Billie said.


We got out of the car.


"Hey, are you alright?" I asked.


"Yeah." She nodded.


I put one arm around her shoulders, and she leaned into me. "Make sure you sleep tonight. No windows for either of us," I said.


"No windows," she said, drowsily.


When we got into class, Billie lay her head on the desk. She didn't look well. I raised my hand and told Ms. Dunlap. She walked over to Billie, putting her hand on Billie's back.


"She feels a little warm," Ms. Dunlap said. "Come on sweetie." She lifted Billie in her arms. And I felt my heart sank. Then Ms. Dunlap opened the door to the connecting classroom, notifying the teacher she would be back shortly. Mr. Cranford, the teacher next door, said he would keep an eye on the class. While Ms. Dunlap took Billie to the nurse, we waited, patiently. But my heart thumped hard against my chest. I wanted to see Billie. She was all I could think about all day. I wanted to see her, but she didn't return for the rest of the day. Did I make her sick? I wasn't sure how that was possible because I felt fine.


At lunch, I ate alone. I didn't want to eat with anyone. I just wanted to find out about Billie.


When I got home, I rushed over to Billie's house. Her mom told me she didn't want me to get sick. Billie had the flu. I started to feel emotional, and the pools of tears formed in my eyes.


"Please, I won't get too close. I just want to see her," I said.


"Okay, Javon," her mom said. She walked with me to Billie's door. And I stood in the doorway, staring at the pretty girl that lay in the bed.


"Javon," her voice cracked. Her hand reached out for me.


"No, Billie. He can't. You don't want him to get sick. Remember what the doctor said," her mom warned.


She nodded and tears were streaming from her eyes.


"Don't cry, Billie," I said.


Tears started to fall from my eyes too. I wiped my face with the back of my hand. I wanted to be with my best friend.

Her mom patted me on the shoulder. "She'll be alright. She just needs a couple of days to recuperate," her mom said.


So I was going to be without Billie for a couple of days. "Can I call her while she's home?" I asked.


"Sure," she said. "But she can't talk long."


"Do you need me to do anything--get her homework?" I asked, eagerly.


"That would be great Javon," her mom said.


"You really are a good friend to her." She smiled at me and then left me standing in the doorway. My body stiffened because I wanted to go over to her so badly. I had to hold myself back. I stared at her. Then she waved at me and I waved back.


"You okay?" I asked.


"I'm okay," she nodded, sniffling. I felt myself inching toward her.


"I don't want you to get sick," she said.


I stopped, standing in the middle of her room. "I should be okay standing here." I looked at the space around me.

Billie nodded with a cute smile.


"I miss you." I looked at the ground, boring my sneaker into it.


"Me too," she said.


I looked into her eyes and smiled. It was nice to know that she felt the same as me. I felt myself being pulled over to her. Then, I stopped. Billie sat up and slid out of the bed.


"No. Billie." I tried to back away but she hugged me. And I hugged her back. I felt the heat from the fever emanating from her body as my hands lay on her back. But it was wonderful holding her. I missed her today. I missed her whenever she wasn't around. I lay my head on top of hers. She still smelled amazing. Standing there, I realized something deeper was happening. It felt different. I didn't know what I was feeling. But it was blossoming into something I couldn't quite explain.

We stood there holding each other until her mom cleared her throat. "Billie why are you out of bed?" she asked.


"I'm sorry mom," Her mom picked her up and put her in the bed.


"I'm sorry Mrs. Rose," I said.


"Javon when you're sick next week, please remind me to keep Billie away from you until you're better. Or better yet I'll tell your mom." She tucked Billie in.


I shook my head and gave her a grin. "I think I'll be okay."


"I hope so," she said. "Well, Billie really needs to get some rest."


"Okay. See you later Billie," I said.


"See ya." She waved.


I was right. I didn't get sick. As I was getting Billie's homework for the week, Miss Dunlap said the flu was going around. My mom kept me loaded with orange juice and lemon and honey. It seemed to work because the sickness didn't come even after Billie returned to school. That was one of the longest weeks I've ever faced without Billie. I hoped I didn't have to experience that again.

Soon, Billie was back to her old self. We played tag, went bike riding, and we even started play wrestling, which was a lot like tag but we included play wrestling. She was still so frisky. We still played games and with our toys. I was so glad she was back and doing well.


That night, I lay in my bed thinking about her. I lay on my stomach, resting my chin on my hands. I was concerned about Billie. I couldn't risk anything happening to her. I realized what Miss Dunlap said about the flu going around, but I believed there may have been more involved. She was so little and she walked outside to my window in just her pajamas. I needed to talk to her.

I strolled over to her house, sliding open her window.

Billie's eyes were wide and she gave a little squeal when I came inside, placing her hands over her mouth. It was so cute.


"Javon? What are you doing here? I didn't know you were coming," she said, sitting near the edge of her bed in the criss-cross applesauce position.


"I know. I'm sorry. I just needed to talk to you."


"Okay. What is it?"

I sat on the floor beside her bed. She let her hand dangle off the bed and I held it.


"I think we should stop going to each other's windows for a while," I said.


"Why?"


"Because I don't want anything to happen to you," I said.


"But it won't." Billie tried to convince me.


"It might. I just want you to be okay. I just think for your health it's better if we stop doing it for a while."


"What if I want to see you or talk to you?" she asked.


"You can call me and I'll call you." I looked up and she was rubbing her eyes. I squeezed her hand. "We can still hang out. I just don't want anything to happen to you."


"What do you think is going to happen?" she sighed.


"I don't know Billie. I don't want to think about it. I just can't have something happen to you. Even when you're sick, it makes me sad." My heart banged loudly as I openly expressed my feelings.


She squeezed my hand and nodded. "Okay. Javon. I'll do it. Thanks."


"For what?" I asked.


"For being a great friend."


I squeezed her hand and smiled at her. "You're welcome. You're a great friend too."

She smiled, laying on her back.

We sat there for a minute and then I stood up and stretched.


"You know you could've called me." Billie tilted her head.


"Yeah, I guess I wanted to see you. I knew this would be the last time for a while," I said.


"Well, see you tomorrow," she turned her back to me. That's when I heard her sniffling.


I sat on the bed, touching her on the back. "It's okay."


"I know. I don't know why I'm crying. We haven't even been doing it that long." Her voice was so little and sweet.


I smiled.


"I'm okay," she said.


"Good."


"I'll see you tomorrow." Her back was still turned to me.


"Billie, can I have a hug?"


She sat up and leaned into me. I put my arms around her and she hugged me back.


We sat there for a moment before I pulled away.


"See you tomorrow," I said.


She nodded and gave me that cute grin. I stood up and slid out of the window, closing it behind me.


I knew that I always wanted her to be in my life. I would risk everything to keep her because I didn't know what I would do without Billie Rose.

Archive
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect with me
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page