top of page
  • Skylar Nightingale

Mine Forever: The Beginning (Chapter 1)

Updated: Sep 25, 2020




This story follows Billie and Javon's friendship and love from the age of eight-years-old to seventeen.








They say you never forget your first love. Billie was mine. - Javon






Chapter 1 - Javon


Eight Years Old


It was the first day of third grade at Webber Elementary. My teacher, Miss Dunlap, introduced herself, writing her name on the whiteboard.


I sat in class along with the rest of the students attentive to the teacher checking attendance. Everyone shouted here when their names were called. She was still looking at her roster, peering up at the class every so often. This caused her to push her big, round glasses up against the bridge of her nose with her thin index finger whenever they slid off her slender face. I think she was making an assessment of missing students.


Then, she walked in.


"You must be Billie Rose," said Miss Dunlap.


I sat at my desk, noticing her immediately. I placed my elbow on the desk and rested my hand against my cheek. Billie Rose, I said to myself while drawing invisible doodles of her name on the desk with my finger. I stared dreamily. She smiled at me and my hand slipped. That's when my head smacked against the desk. Ouch! The sting only lasted a split second. I think the desk suffered more than I did.


There were snickers around the classroom. I didn't care. I only had one person on my mind.


Miss Dunlap looked at her roster. "Javon, are you alright?"


I nodded, not wanting to tear my eyes away from her. Billie Rose sat two rows behind me. I noticed there wasn't anyone sitting next to her. So I picked up my things and dashed to sit beside her. She was the prettiest girl I'd ever seen. Her eyes were dark brown and shaped like almonds. Her skin was brown and smooth, and she had the cutest button nose. Her hair was pulled into a huge afro puff. She seemed a little shorter in height than most people in the class and looked a lot younger too. She appeared to be about five or six years old. I didn't care. I couldn't wait to go outside for recess to play with her. I stuck out my hand and introduced myself.


"I'm Billie," she responded, shaking my hand. It was soft, tiny, and fit perfectly in mine.


My stomach felt weird. When I took gymnastics over the summer, I would run fast against the wind before doing a flip. That's how my stomach felt. I bit the inside of my cheek. I'm not sure why but it seemed to calm the jumpiness I felt inside.


"Okay, Javon since you've started introductions, would you mind standing up for the class and telling us a little about yourself," said Miss Dunlap, snapping me out of my flipping thoughts, and causing me to finally release Billie's hand.


I hoped that Miss Dunlap's neon orange shirt with flowers would keep my attention. Maybe that's why she wore it to keep us focused. If that was her aim, so far it wasn't helping.


Great, I thought, sarcastically.


I stood up, telling the class a little about myself. "I like to sing, read, write, hang out with my family, and meet new people." I looked at Billie when I made the last statement. Then, I sat down quickly.


"Okay, Javon. Thank you for that, and please understand that will have to be your seat for a while until I can learn everyone's names."


"Okay," I said, not minding at all.


Our first lesson of the day was Language Arts. I loved that subject. It was my favorite. My love for reading and writing helped me to excel in this area.

I often read books that were above my grade level, which gave an eight-year-old like me a massive vocabulary.

Miss Dunlap placed the spelling words on the board. After we wrote them down, she told us to get a dictionary and look them up.


I kept eyeing Billie, asking her if she needed my help. She politely declined. There were several other lessons we had in Language Arts. We were given writing exercises. Billie finally needed my help when we had to choose five words from our spelling list to write about. We brained stormed together. I stood beside her, offering suggestions. Mmm. She smelled like strawberries. Miss Dunlap came back, asking Billie if she needed assistance.


"No thanks. Javon is helping me," said Billie. Her voice was small and sweet.


I felt all warm and fuzzy inside.


"Okay sweetie, but if you need my help..." said Miss Dunlap.


"Okay. Thanks," said Billie, sweetly.


I was able to help her come up with an idea. It felt good helping her.


After that, we had silent reading. Then, it was time for lunch. I sat next to Billie in the Cafeteria. It seemed that other people were interested in sitting with Billie too. A few girls from our class sat beside her, others sat on the other side of the table, across from her. I met them last year. Everyone seemed curious about Billie because they didn't remember her from last year. One girl named Jodie asked did she attend Webber Elementary last year.


"No, I went to Wilkinson Elementary." Wilkinson was a school across town.


"Do you miss your friends?" asked one girl, named Bria.


"Yeah." Billie sighed. I put my hand on her shoulder and she smiled at me. She took a bite out of her apple slice. They began talking to her about playing outside for recess. I was feeling selfish. I wanted her all to myself. Billie gave me a closed-lip smile. It was so cute.


"I think I want to play with Javon today," she said.


"Aww, why can't we all play?" said a girl named Deena.


"We should all play." She looked at me while I was taking a sip of my drink.


"What do you guys want to play?" I asked, hoping they wanted to play the same thing I did.


"We want to play with the jump ropes," said Chara. The other girls agreed.


"What do you want to play, Javon?" asked Billie.


"I want to play with trucks and cars," I said.


"Me too," said Billie with wide eyes.


Yes, I thought.


"Why do you want to play with boy toys?" asked a girl named Amelia.


"I like them. I have some trucks and cars at home."


"What? Are you a tomboy?" asked Chara.


"Um. I don't know." She shrugged. "I just like playing with cars and trucks."


Oh man, this girl was getting more and more perfect by the minute.


"But you don't dress like a tomboy. I mean you are wearing a dress--a really cute dress," said Deena.


"Tomboys can't wear dresses?" asked Billie, looking at me.


I shrugged. "You probably can wear whatever you want," I said.


Soon, it was time to go outside for recess. Billie pulled my arm.

"C'mon Javon."


I followed obediently with a smile. We went outside and grabbed an armful of cars and trucks. We went over to a large wooden bench and sat down, crashing them into one another and racing them, and making them chase one another. Wow! This girl was amazing she even played like me. As we were playing, I think, I was lost for a moment. I was playing, with her but mind was elsewhere. I was focused on her as she looked down at the cars, playing. Then, she looked up and flashed me a full-on smile. Whoa. I think I needed to find another word to describe how I was feeling. Her smile took my breath away. I sat there staring at her. I completely stopped playing. That had never happened to me before.


"Are you okay?" she asked.


"Uh huh." I nodded.


"C'mon let's play," she said.


"Okay."


We played together until it was time to put our things away in the outside storage space. She put one arm around my shoulder as we were walking and I put mine around hers.


"We are going to be friends forever," said Billie.


"And then one day, I'm gonna make you mine forever," I said, kissing her on the cheek and we hugged.


That was it. I think I truly was gone.


When we went back to class, it was time for math. I had a few questions but Billie answered every one. She seemed to be very talented in that subject. I guess we could help each other. I could help her with Language Arts if she needed it and she could help me with math.


When we went home, we got onto the same bus. I was surprised and happy. She sat next to me and we talked about what we were going to do at recess tomorrow. I was feeling a little somber because I wasn't ready to get off the bus because I wanted to spend some more time with her. My stop was coming up fast. It was my stop. I stood up, and so did she. I smiled at her. No way. "This is your stop too?" I said.


"Yeah."


"That's so cool," I said.


"C'mon," I clutched her hand. We climbed down the stairs and stepped onto the pavement. I was still holding her hand. "Billie, can you meet my parents?" I asked.


"Um. Sure," she nodded.


The door to my house was open. I walked through the side door. I asked her to wait there in the kitchen. I walked into the family room to talk to my parents. I greeted them.


"Hey Javon," said my mom and dad.


"I want you to meet my friend Billie Rose," I said.


"Where is he?" asked my dad.


"She's in the kitchen." I pointed toward the kitchen with my thumb.


"She, huh?" my dad, nodded, looking at my mom.


We walked out into the kitchen. She gave us a closed-lip smile.


"Oh she is so adorable Javon," said my mom, placing her hand on her chest, and looking at me. I think she fell instantly. I smiled at them. Billie held out her hand. "Hi, my name is Billie," she said, looking up at my parents.


"Hi, Billie. I'm Mrs. Allen," said my mom, shaking Billie's hand.


"Nice to meet you, Billie. I'm Mr. Allen," said my dad, placing his large over hers to shake. Billie smiled, tipping her head back to look up at my dad, who towered over her. He was tall. I hoped to be his height one day.


My mom pinched her cheeks, lowering her average height down to Billies. "How old are you?" she asked.


"I'm eight."


"Eight? Wow. I thought you were much younger," said my mom.

Billie smiled brighter.


"Do you wanna stay for dinner?" asked my mom.


"I have to ask my mom and dad."


"Okay, sweetie. Well, you're welcome to come over any time."


"Okay."


"So cute," said my mom, standing up straight. "So where do you live?"


"Um, I can show you." She stepped onto the porch, and we followed. "I live around that corner." She pointed with her finger.


"Oh. You're close," said my mom.


"Yup," said Billie with a nod.


"Maybe Javon and I can walk you home," said my mom.


"Okay."


Home? I wasn't ready for her to leave yet.


"Mom, does she have to go now?" I asked.


"Yes. Her parents are probably wondering where she is. She can come back," said my mom.


"Okay." I nodded.


My mom and I walked Billie home. Her house was almost directly in front of or behind mine. We shared a fence in the backyard.

Her mom was standing on the porch. My mom walked up to her and held out her hand. "Hi, Mrs. Rose. I'm Darlene Allen." They stood almost eye to eye, except my mom was a little taller.

Her mom shook it. "Hi, I'm Ava."


"This is my son Javon. He just introduced me to Billie."


"That's nice. So this is your new friend?" said Billie's mom.


"Yup," said Billie with a nod.


Then, her mom smiled at me. "Hello, young man." Her mom shook my hand.


"Can I stay over his house for dinner?" asked Billie.


"Uh." Her mom scratched her head. I'm sure that letting her daughter eat with strangers was a scary thought. "Would you guys like to come inside?" she waved us in.

"Sure," said my mom.


We went inside. She was very hospitable. She offered something to eat and drink.


"No thanks," my mom and I said.


Her dad walked downstairs. Her dad was tall too, but I don't think he was as tall as mine. His muscles were bigger than my dad's, though. I could tell because he was wearing a T-shirt.

He greeted us by saying hi and shaking our hands. We happily greeted him back.


Billie's mom talked to him about dinner.


"You guys are all welcome to come," said my mom.


"Sure. Why not?" said her dad, shrugging.


Billie pulled my arm. We left our parents in the kitchen talking.


"Let's go play Javon." We went into her room. She was right she had trucks and cars. She also had action figures--a lot of them. There were also a few stuffed animals neatly sitting in front of the pillows on her bed. We played with action figures and cars. I didn't think I'd ever want to go home. She asked me if I wanted to play a board game.


"Sure," I said. My mom peeked her head inside Billie's room.


"Hey, I'm leaving but you can come home when Billie's family comes for dinner."


"Okay."


She walked over and gave me a hug. Then she gave Billie a hug.


"Bye cutie," she said to Billie.


She was right. Billie was cute. We played until it was time to go. The time flew by.


We went over to my parent's house. Her mom brought dessert. We sat in the dining area. We didn't use that area often unless we had company. Our parents were getting to know one another. Billie's dad and my dad had the engineering field in common. Their conversations lingered between the two of them for a while. Billie and I sat and listened. Our mom's started their own conversations. When we finished eating, Billie and I asked to be excused. We cleared our plates from the table and then went to the family room to play. I kept my video games in there. I asked if she wanted to play. She agreed. We started playing. I beat her the entire time. Then, I showed her different moves she could make and she started to catch on. When she knocked me down or beat me in a race, or any advancements she made, I gave her a high-five. When her parents were leaving, we weren't ready to stop playing. I asked if she could stay a little longer.


"Javon, Billie has to get ready for school tomorrow and so do you," my mom reminded me, leaning on the door frame.


"Okay," I moved my head with each syllable, fretting. "Can I walk with them home?" I asked.


"Not tonight," said my mom.


"Okay, mom."


She smiled at us and left the room.


We stopped playing. I felt sad. I didn't want her to go. Billie started picking up a few games to clean.


"No Billie. I got it."


"I don't mind," she said.


"Okay." We cleaned up the games. Then, we hugged.


"I can come over tomorrow," she said.


"Right." I nodded and smiled, feeling my stomach run and flip.


She and her parents waved as they walked out the door. I waved back. I couldn't wait until tomorrow to see the sweet Billie Rose.






Archive
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect with me
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page