top of page
  • Skylar Nightingale

Mine Forever: The Beginning (Chapter 11)


Chapter 11 - Javon


9-Years-Old



Billie said she wanted to use some of the prize money that I won to go to my mom's restaurant.

"We don't usually have to pay at my mom's restaurant," I said.

"But we can."

"Okay." I nodded. "Mom Billie wants to go to your restaurant."

"I think Billie needs to go to bed," said my mom.

"Please. I will go when I get home," Billie pleaded, clasping her hands together.

"Alright," said my mom.

When we got to the restaurant, Billie was sleeping. I prodded her awake.

Billie seemed to enjoy the little food that she ate, but my mom looked at me concerned.

We asked the waitress for to go boxes. We had food on our plates as well but Billie's meal was practically untouched. She placed gift card on the table, then placed her hand over her mouth, dashing to the ladies room. My mom hurried behind her, and my eyes were wet. I wiped them as the waitress came over to our table.

"Are you okay Javon?" asked the waitress. Her name was Jillian. She had worked at my mom's restaurant for a couple of years and was familiar with our family.

"Yeah." I nodded. I held up the card.

"You guys don't have to pay," she said.

"We wanted to pay today."

"Okay. I'll ring up everything that you ordered," she said, taking the card.

Billie and my mom returned to the table. Her eyes were red and watering or was she crying?

She gave a smile as if she was trying to calm my worry, but that didn't help. I knew she wasn't well, and my stomach plunged with concern.

"Javon we have to go. Billie's sick," said my mom.

Jillian returned with to go boxes and our receipts. My mom signed them. We placed our food in the boxes and left.

Billie was making strange humming noises and rubbing her stomach as she lay her head on my lap in the car.

"It's okay sweetie," said my mom.

She started coughing. I felt the tears well in my eyes, again. I grabbed her warm hand, making circles on it with my thumb as I looked out the window.

My mom pulled into her driveway. She picked up Billie, taking her inside. I followed. My mom explained to her mom everything that had happened. Then, Billie was exchanged from my mom's arms to hers.

"I'm taking her to the doctor right now."

"Can I go?" I asked.

"No. Javon. Let's just see what the doctor says," said my mom.

"Please," I pleaded.

My mom put her arm around my shoulders while I peered at up her. "I know you're worried. Just let her mom take her okay."

I nodded slowly, then wiped my wet face with the back of my hand. I walked over to her mom, holding Billie's hand. She was sleeping. I squeezed it. My Billie.

I walked out to the car with a hurting heart. Why couldn't I go? I wanted to see what was wrong with my friend. I lay my head against the car and cried.

My mom came outside and put her hand on my back.

"She's gonna be okay." Her voice wavered a bit. I wondered how much she believed that.

She drove home in silence. I fell onto my bed when we arrived home. I couldn't think until my mom came into my room.

"Billie's at home. She has strep throat and a fever. She has a virus. They said to let her rest," said my mom, relaying the message to me.

"C-Can I see her?" I stammered as my heart raced.

"Only if you can keep your distance."

"I will." I nodded.

"Okay."

I dashed out of my house over to hers through the back gate, walking around to the front door. Her mom opened the door, relaying the same message that my mom gave earlier.

I stood her the doorway with my hands in my pockets. It was last year all over again. Why did she keep getting sick? Was it because she was so little? She was sleeping so peacefully. I wanted to hug her. She moaned as she turned in her sleep. I needed to hold her. I stood there, letting the tears rolling down my cheeks. What could I do for her? I moved closer. Then, I fell onto the black beanbag in the corner of her room. I watched her until I fell asleep. I awoke to her mom gently shaking me.

"Are you okay?" she whispered.

"Yeah. Can I stay here?"

"Sure." She smiled and so did I. I stood up and picked a book from Billie's bookshelf, and began reading it until I felt it was time to go.

As I was leaving, I told her mom I could pick up her homework from school. She thanked me.

My mom quizzed me on my spelling words. I missed Billie drilling me. We had so much fun together. She would tickle me when I got a word wrong. We would play a game of tag. I missed her. I had to do it. I knew she would want me to. Over the next couple of days, I went to visit her. She was still sick. She lay there beautifully. She opened her eyes and smiled at me. I waved at her from a distance, remember the warning our moms gave.

"Hi." Her voice croaked.

I waved, mouthing the words hi.

She sat up slowly. It looked like it hurt.

"Don't get up." I held out my hands, not wanting her to hurt herself.

"Bathroom." She pointed.

"Let me help you." I put my hand around her shoulders, walking her to the bathroom.

I waited until she came out, and walked her to the bed. Then, I sat beside her, putting my arms around her shoulders.

"How do you feel?" I asked.

"Better."

I looked at her and smiled. She appeared better as she smiled at me. I gave her a hug.

"I'm so glad," I said into her ear.

"I have to lay down."

I nodded, helping her down. Then, I tucked her in and watched her fall asleep.

I went home to study. I did that every day. I visited her and then went home to study for the competition and homework.

The night before the spelling bee, I started to think about her. I shouldn't go. I needed to stay to help her. If she couldn't go, I should stay and give her my attention until she was well. She needed me. That was it. I had to stay, and she would be the first to know.

I slipped into her window. She made a humming sound as I sat on the bed.

"I'm not going," I said.

She touched my lower back. "Why?" Her voice croaked.

"I can't if you're sick. I won't be able to concentrate."

"You have to."

"I don't want to go if you don't."

"I can't go with you everywhere. I'm not your sister or girlfriend."

I turned to face her, taking her hand in mine. "You're more than those things. You mean more than that. You're my best friend."

"That's sweet, but I can't go." Her voice broke more and more as she spoke.

I lay down beside her, and she pulled me close. We stared at one another. Then, she rolled on top of me, laying on my chest. My heart banged with fear for what I was feeling for her. I placed my hand on her back. It felt so hot through her pajamas. I squeezed her as tears fell from my eyes.

"You have to go. Do it for me." She looked up into my eyes. "Win for me."

I nodded and squeezed her close while sniffling. Yes, I would win for her.

In the morning, she woke up, smiling at me. She seemed better.

"Good morning," I said, peering into her eyes.

"Morning." Her voice was a whisper. She touched her throat. "Morning." This time nothing came out.

I scanned her face in panic. Then, I squeezed her close.

"Billie?" I cried, pulling away and looking into her eyes.

"I'm okay." She mouthed the words.

"No, you're not."

"Go," she demanded, pointing toward the window.

She was right. I had the competition. We embraced then she released me, rolling off of me onto the bed.

I looked back at her as I snuck out of her window. She smiled with pride in her eyes.

When I arrived home, I got dressed. I thought about her as I slipped my tie under my collar, so I slid back inside her window. She looked ten times worse. Her eyes were swollen and red. Her cheeks and lips were swollen as well. I shuddered. "Billie?" I shouted. She opened her eyes. I dashed over to her bed, and sat down on the bottom of it, not wanting to disturb her. Then, I scooted back against the cold wall. I couldn't leave her. She sat up, and crawled onto my lap, then placed her head on my chest and peered up at me. "Win," she mouthed the word. I nodded with continuous tears.

Her mom came in and said she heard shouting, then looked in my direction.

"Javon, I didn't hear you come in."

"Oh yeah. Sorry. I wanted to see her before I left."

"Okay. Well, you better get going. Break a leg."

"Thanks."

I hugged Billie, placing her under the covers. I went out the front door, crying on my way home.

The State Competition was in Hartford. The arena was twice as big as ours back home and it was twice as packed. I thought about Billie throughout the competition. I didn't hesitate--didn't think as words were thrown at me. I spelled each one effortlessly while hearing her words, "win for me.'"

And I did. I won for her. I won one thousand dollars, two tickets to Universal Studios and a two hundred dollar restaurant gift card, a large trophy, and an entry into the national competition. On our way home, I thought about the look she gave me as I snuck out of her window. She was so proud. It lit up my heart. I couldn't wait to show her what we did.

When I got home, I didn't waste any time. I waltzed over to her house, ringing her doorbell. No one was there. I ran home in a panic. Where was Billie?

I entered the house where my mom had the look of terror on her face. "We have to go," she said with tears in her eyes.



Archive
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect with me
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page