top of page
  • Skylar Nightingale

Mine Forever: The Beginning (Chapter 4)

Updated: Sep 25, 2020




Chapter 4 - Billie


Eight-Years-Old



Javon and I were still closer than ever. We still played, studied, and hung out together. I loved spending time with him.

We decided to ride around the neighborhood, making sure to wear our helmets. Javon always fidgeted with mine, making sure it was securely on my head and snugly buckled under my chin, even after I checked multiple times. Sometimes my stomach felt like it was doing weird things when he was that close to me, especially when he stopped and looked directly at me. I often gave a closed-lip smile, pretending my heart wasn't stomping against my chest. Whenever I checked his helmet, I watched him pull his cheek between his teeth. Sometimes, I would playfully poke that spot, making him laugh. Then, we would head out to our bikes hand-in-hand.


As we rode around, he was in front of me but kept looking back, asking me if I was okay. He continued to repeat that question over and over.


"I'm okay," I said, giving a small chuckle. Knowing how much he cared, made me feel warm and gooey inside like the chocolate chip cookies I liked to eat.


We began riding uphill, causing me to pedal harder. Javon turned to look at me. That's when I noticed a steeply slanted board in the middle of the sidewalk. My tires screeched against the ground as I stopped.

"Look out," I screamed, but it was too late. He went flying up into the air off of his bike, shouting my name. My heart was beating so fast it hurt. I jumped off my bike, causing it to fall and clack against the ground. I needed to catch him, but everything was happening so fast. His arms and legs were swinging everywhere as he was falling. I bolted around, trying to position myself so that he could land on top of me, but that plan failed. His back and helmet slammed onto the pavement with a thud, and his eyes were closed. I screamed his name. Buckets of tears poured from my eyes as I kept yelling his name, but he wouldn't wake up. I shook him harder and harder. As my heart sank to my stomach, I looked around for help. I couldn't suck the air into my lungs fast enough. A guy who looked like a teenager ran toward me with a phone in his hand. "Hey, go and get help. I'll stay here with him," said the teenager with panic in his voice. I left my bike and ran as fast as I could to his parents' house. I heaved as his mom opened the door, letting me inside. I placed my hand on my chest. It was hard for me to catch my breath. His mom looked at my teary face and knew something was wrong. She grabbed her purse and shouted out to Mr. Allen. He walked out of another room, standing beside her.

"It's Javon. Something's wrong," I choked out. Mr. Allen picked me up and put me in the back seat of the car, strapping me in. I told them where to go. When we arrived, an ambulance was there, but the teenager was gone. Javon's mom flew out of the car. They were putting Javon on a gurney and removing his helmet. I wept and wept while still in the back seat. His mom laid her head on his chest. I clicked the door handle, trying to get out of the car, but Javon's dad still needed to park. So he told me to wait. When he found a parking spot and we dashed out of the car. Javon was still unconscious. I stood there, hanging onto the gurney. They began to wheel him into the ambulance, but I couldn't let it go. My body was frozen in sorrow. He couldn't leave me, and I wouldn't leave him. As I continued to hold on, his mom said she was riding in the ambulance with him. His dad said we would meet them there. Then, everyone tried to convince me that it was okay and to let go, but I still couldn't. I couldn't believe he was lying there in front of me almost lifeless. I cried, laying my head on his shoulder. I kept calling his name. They told me they couldn't help if I didn't let go. I tried to pry my hand away, but it wouldn't move. It was stuck there.

Javon's mom cried. "It's okay Billie you can let it go," she said, placing her hand on mine. Then, Javon's dad picked me up, causing my hand to lift away from it. They were finally able to move him onto the back of the ambulance. His mom hopped on, and they closed the door. His dad and I got in the car. We followed behind as the loud siren blared and lights flashed all the way to the hospital.  I wanted to be back there with him. Javon was my best friend. He was my everything. I couldn't lose him. I buried my head in my shirt and wailed. I heard his dad sniffling. "I'm so sorry Mr. Allen," I said, touching the back of his chair.


"Don't blame yourself, Billie." his voice was somber.


"If he wasn't trying to make sure I was okay..." I cried. "It's my fault."


"No Billie," he cried.


I couldn't speak anymore. His dad fell silent too.


When we arrived at the hospital, we had to sit in the waiting room. The doctor called us. Mr. Allen was holding my hand. Tears started streaming down my face as he spoke. The doctor bent down to speak to me. "Aww...you're so cute. Are you his sister?"


"No. They're friends," Mr. Allen said.


Then, Mr. Allen picked me up. I laid my head on his shoulder. I was zoning out as the doctor spoke. All I heard was a mild concussion, something for the pain, and he's resting. I guess the doctor said we could go in because his parents went into his room. They told me to stand behind them. They knew he'd want to see me and they wanted him to be surprised. Walking inside, I heard the beeping of the heart monitor. His mom went over and hugged him and then his dad. I couldn't see him while standing behind them, but I watched his arm go around them.

"Billie," his voice croaked.


"Really Javon? That's the first word that you say," his mom said. I could see her wiping her face and she had a slight smirk. His dad picked me up and sat me on the bed beside him. I laid beside Javon, touched him on the shoulder, and cried. "I'm sorry," I said.


He put his arm around me, I slipped mine around his back, laying my head on his. His heart rate literally increased drastically. The heart monitor showed a spike in his heart rate. I gasped. "Javon? Are you okay?" I asked.


"I think he's okay, Billie." His dad chuckled.


The nurse rushed in. "Hey, sweetie. Let me just check his vitals," she said to me. I released him and she picked me up, placing me on the ground. People liked picking me up, maybe because I was little.


His heart rate began to decline back to normal.


"Billie you see what you do to my son?" his dad laughed. "I told you he's okay. He's just happy to see you."


I smiled at him as tears slipped down my face. Then, I wiped them away. I was happy to see him too.


"It's okay sweetie," his mom said. I stood in the middle of the floor staring at the nurse and Javon. The nurse said he was okay. She said she would check on him periodically. His mom waved me over to her. She picked me up, placing me on her lap.

"We're going to take you home," Mrs. Allen said. "They're going to have to keep him overnight for observation."


"No." my voice was teary.


"Billie you have to go home. Your mom is probably worried. I haven't had a chance to call her."


"Please call her. I need to stay," I said. "Please," I pleaded, bobbing my body up and down.


"Okay," Mrs. Allen said.


I slid off her lap and she went into the hallway. I sat near the arm of the couch while Javon's dad was sitting near the other one on the other end. He was wiping his eyes. "You know sometimes I walk past the bathroom and I hear him singing in the shower. I hear him belting out those ballads. He's such a great singer, you know." The truth was I still hadn't heard him, so I didn't know. But I listened to his dad talk. "I haven't heard him sing like that until he met you. I mean he sang in the past but it's with so much more emotion than he used to express."


My stomach started doing funny stuff. It felt like flips. My cheeks grew warm. Tears slid down my face. His mom came back into the room. I placed my head on the arm of the armchair and cried. "Aww...I didn't mean to make you cry," Mr. Allen said.


"What happened?" Javon's mom asked.


"I told her about Javon's singing."


She gasped. "Javon probably wanted to keep that private." She chuckled, then touched my arm.


"You're mom said you can stay." I sniffled, sat up, and wiped my tears. "Do you want me to pick up anything from your house?" Mrs. Allen asked.


I nodded and gave her a list of things I needed, ticking off each finger as I spoke.


"Okay. I'll be back shortly," she said. She walked over to Javon and squeezed his hand. He was resting. When she walked out of the room, I walked over to Javon and stared at him.


"Billie," he called out. I grabbed his hand that was reaching out for me. I squeezed it and the tears streamed down my face.


Then, I heard my mom's voice.


"How is he?" I turned and looked at my mom. I ran over to her. She bent down to hug me and I cried into her shoulder.


"He's gonna be okay," Mr. Allen said. "Darlene is on her way to your house," said Mr. Allen, referring to Mrs. Allen.

"Oh, my husband is there," my mom said.


"Okay," he said.


My mom took a seat on the couch. We sat there watching Javon breath. It was the best feeling in the world.


His mom returned with my things and her things. His dad wasn't going to stay but he told us he was going to pick up our bikes from where the accident happened and let us know he would return in the morning. He said goodbye to everyone then walked over to Javon and squeezed his shoulder. Then, he moseyed out of the room. My mom stayed a while longer, talking to Javon's mom. She asked Javon's mom if she needed anything. She said, "no". My mom left and told me she would call Javon's mom periodically.


That night, the nurses brought me a white comforter and a pillow. After I prepared for bed, I curled into a ball on the couch and fell asleep. While sleeping, I couldn't breathe. I was gasping for air. Javon was falling. I was reaching out to grab him, but I missed. I gasped and belted out his name, waking up. I heard him call my name. I looked around the empty room and rushed over to his side, clutching his hand. He squeezed. "Billie," he fell silent again. I felt helpless as tears slid down my face.

I released his hand. I found a stool, stood on it, and sat on the foot of the bed. Then, I pulled my legs to my chest, placing my head on my knees. I put one of my hands on his covered leg and fell asleep. In the middle of the night, I awoke on the couch. I wanted to be next to him. His mom must have put me on the couch before falling asleep. I sat up and walked over to the bed. I stood on the stool and laid beside him. I felt his body shift and his arm went around me. I felt warm and comforted. Something, I always felt when I was around him.


I watched his mom sit up and walk toward the bed. "Billie, what are you doing? You can't--"

Tears spilled from the sides of my eyes.


"Oh never mind," she waved her thought away. "Make sure you don't wake him," she said.


"I won't," I whispered.

She laid back under the cover on the couch and leaned on the pillow that the nurse had given her earlier. I gave a small smile then I squeezed Javon's arm and he squeezed me to him. I relaxed and fell asleep.


That morning, I was awakened by nurses. Javon was sitting up. They were checking his vitals to make sure he was okay. I was still lying in bed. I didn't move. My eyes just traveled around as the nurses buzzed around the room. His dad was back. He greeted me and asked me if I slept well. I rubbed my eyes and nodded. My heart was pounding with glee. The nightmare was ending. I looked up at Javon and he looked down at me smiling. The doctor came in and talked to his parents. The nurses left the room. I was finally able to sit up and hug him, so I did. I hugged him tightly.


"Ow, Billy you're hurting me," he said.


I gasped releasing him immediately.


He chuckled. "I'm kidding."


I gently pushed his shoulder. "Don't do that."


"I'm sorry," he said. He put his arms around me and I put mine around him.


"I'm sorry, Javon," I cried.


"Why are you sorry?" He pulled away.


"If it weren't for me then you wouldn't be here," I cried.


"This is not your fault," he pulled me to his chest. "I should've been looking. I just always want to make sure you're okay."


"I want to make sure you're okay too," I said.


"You did. You're here, right?" he asked.


I nodded.


"You're a great friend Billie Rose." He squeezed me.


I squeezed him back. "Don't ever leave me again," I said in a whisper.


"I'll try not to," he said.


"No. Don't do it," I demanded forcefully through tears.


"I know Billie. I know how you feel." He rubbed my back. I looked at his face. Tears were rolling down his cheeks. I wiped them away and hugged him again.


The doctor came over and greeted us. "Nope, she's definitely not your sister," the doctor mumbled. Javon looked at me and smiled. We pulled away from one another.


"Don't stop on my account," said the doctor, holding up his hand.


We chuckled. I slid off the bed and the doctor shined a light in Javon's eyes. He told Javon he was free to go today. I let out a breath in relief. While the doctor gave Javon one last check-up, I went into the bathroom to prepare for the day. He was finished when I stepped out, so I packed my things and I sat down on the couch. His mom and dad were holding hands, standing.


We walked out of the hospital together. In the back of the car, I sat next to him. I put my head on his shoulders and let the tears fall. "I missed you," I said softly. He put his arm around me.


"Don't cry Billie," he said, leaning his head against mine.


That night, I didn't want to be away from him. I knew what he said about the window but I had to see him. I had to make sure he was okay. When I slid into his window, he freaked out.


"Billie, I thought we talked about this."


"I had to see you," I hugged him and he hugged me back.


"I know, but you could've called me. You shouldn't be out," he said.


He pulled away and took my hand in his. "Let's go," he said.


"No."


"Billie, please," he said.


"I need to make sure you're okay."


"I'm okay. Now I need to make sure you're okay. Let's go."


"Please don't make me go," I pleaded with sad eyes.


"Okay, but Billie this has to be the last time okay."


I nodded and laid in his bed. He lay next to me and we faced each other. I held his hand in mine and squeezed it. He squeezed back.


"We're gonna be okay, Billie." He sniffled.


"We are," I agreed. We stared at each other intensely as if we were trying to keep each other in view, but eventually, we fell to sleep.

Archive
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect with me
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page