top of page
  • Skylar Nightingale

Mine Forever: The Beginning (Chapter 2)

Updated: Sep 25, 2020



Chapter 2 - Javon


Eight-Years-Old




On the way to school, Billie and I sat next to each other. We talked about how much fun we had yesterday and what we were going to do today at recess. Recess couldn't come fast enough.


When we ate lunch, Chara squeezed between Billie and me. Billie shook her head and silently watched. I asked Chara to move but she moved her head back and forth with a frown. So I stood up and slid her away from Billie, making a space for myself. Chara walked over to the lunch monitor, Ms. Bradley, and told her that I was bothering her. Ms. Bradley approached me and told me to come with her. Billie put down her lunch and followed me. She walked beside me. I looked at her and smiled. She was folding her arms as she walked beside me. Ms. Bradley stopped and asked Billie why she was following us. Billie explained to her what happened. She waved Chara over. We walked into the hallway. Billie and I told the same story.


"I just wanted to sit next to Billie," said Chara.


"We do not tolerate such behavior. You should take turns sitting next to her," Ms. Bradley suggested.


"Javon hogs her all to himself," said Chara.

Really? It was only the second day of school. How much time did I really take away from everyone to spend with her?


"What do you think?" Ms. Bradley asked, peering at Billie.


"Sure," she said. Her gaze fell to the floor. I studied her sad expression.


"Are you okay?" I asked her.


She nodded.


"Sweetie what do you want to do?" asked Ms. Bradley.

"We can take turns," said Billie. I was already learning about her personality. She didn't want to upset anyone. She wanted to make everyone happy. I didn't want to sit away from her, but I guess it was only fair.

I let Chara sit next to her. During recess, Billie and I grabbed a few trucks and cars from storage. When we set them down, Deena came over and pulled Billie's arm. "C'mon Billie," she said.

Billie told me she would be back. They were jump roping. I stood up and stared at her. She was so cute in her jeans, top, and two hair puffs. She waved me over. I drifted over to them. I stood there watching. Billie jumped out of the twirling rope, asking me to jump in. She took my hand, and I jumped in with her. After we jumped out, we started walking over to the bench, but Amelia grabbed her hand.

"Nuh uh," I said, shaking my head. I clutched her hand. It was a Billie tug of war. I pulled one way, she pulled another. Billie started screaming. I dropped her hand and backed away. I didn't want to hurt her. Billie walked over to me, wrapping me into a friendly embrace. "I will play with you after school okay," she said.

She reached up and held my shoulders at arm's length. I nodded.

The seconds couldn't tick by fast enough. As I sat there watching, a guy tapped me on the arm, asking me to play basketball with him. I agreed, waving to Billie. She waved back.


After school, Billie came over to my house. We didn't have homework, so we played video games. She was catching on pretty quickly. I told her a few more moves and she started using them immediately. I was impressed with her. I asked if she wanted to go outside to play. She said, "yes." We played tag. I chased her around. She moved fast--like a brown hare. She knew how to psych me out. She was also great at hopping over my legs and sliding around me. Wow! Eventually, I caught her. We landed on the grass and laughed so hard. Then we laid on our backs for a moment, staring up at the sky. It was a beautiful, warm, and sunny day. She made it even more special. She stayed until it was night time. Then my mom and I walked her home.


The next day the girls were sitting beside Billie. They all talked excitedly about the weekend. They wanted Billie to come over for a sleepover. As I looked around, I noticed a few guys were waving me over to their table. I told Billie I would see her later. I went to join the guys. I stared at her every now and then. Our eyes would meet, then we'd go back to our conversations. I stayed at the table with the guys, letting the girls hang out. I knew I would hang out with Billie at home.


That weekend, I was hoping to hang out with Billie, but she went straight home on Friday. I walked her there. We hung out for a couple of hours at her house before she was whisked away by her new friends. She called my house once from her friend's cell phone. I never gave Billie my number, but most likely her parents had it. We talked briefly. She told me what they were doing. I heard someone say "Bye Javon." Billie squealed. Then the phone went silent. I sighed. I guess I'd see her tomorrow.


My dad walked into the family room while putting on a tie. He asked me if I wanted to go out to eat with him. I loved hanging out with my dad. I told him I would like to go. He wanted us to have some time to bond as father and son, outside of the house. We were going to dress up. After I finished dressing, my tie laid flat against my shirt. I still didn't know how to tie it. I guess this was my day to learn how to do it. I walked out into the living room and he tied it the first time. Then, he untied it and asked me to do it. So I tried it a couple of times, but I couldn't catch on. He showed me a few more times, and then I got it. My mom was watching and taking pictures with her phone. As I tied it, I thought about Billie. Maybe I could show her how to do it.


My dad and I went out to eat. I talked about school, and he talked about his job. Then he asked me about Billie.

"So, how is Billie doing?"

"She's okay." My stomach did a flip.

"You really like hanging around her, huh?"

"Yeah, she's reeeally..." I couldn't get the words out. "Cool." Phew.

He laughed and took a sip of his drink.

Then he paused for a moment and stared at me. My heart was beating fast as I wondered what he was going to say. Was it about Billie? Could I still hang out with her? He cleared his throat and told me a few things about how to treat a girl. I let out a long breath, happy that it wasn't something negative about spending time with my friend. I smiled and listened to his advice. I had a feeling those conversations would get longer as time went on.


After dinner, I went home and read a book, waiting for her to return. 

Billie came home late Saturday night. She called me when she got in, telling me all about her sleepover venture. I wanted to have a sleepover with her. I needed to ask my parents.


By the next week, we had homework. Billie and I began to study together. She helped me with math and I helped her with Language Arts. Whenever we were finished, we played at her house or mine. We ran around the backyard, playing tag often. Sometimes we would bring our toys outside to play.


After another week had passed before I finally got the guts to ask my parents if I could have a sleepover. My mom peered at my dad.

"With who Javon, Billie?" asked my mom, smirking at my dad.

"Yeah," I said, shyly boring a hole in the ground with the arch of my foot. Thinking about it made my stomach feel weird again--front flip.

"Sure. Let's see what her parents say," said my mom.

I smiled.



That weekend, Billie Rose was staying at my house. Our parents had one condition, we had to sleep in the living room. It didn't matter to me where we slept as long as she was staying.


Billie brought her sleeping bag over. We stayed up the entire night, pillow fighting, talking, and watching movies. Billie fell asleep first. I sat there watching her. She was so pretty. I didn't want to go to sleep. There was no way a dream could compete with the beautiful person that was laying in front of me. But soon sleep found me.


My dad woke us up, dragging his suitcases through the living room. I stretched, feeling so tired. Billie sat up and wiped her eyes.

"Sorry sweetie," said my dad to Billie. Everyone seemed to give Billie special treatment. It made my heart happy. I stood up and gave my dad a hug. He was going on a business trip. I really hated it when he left. The house felt less full when he wasn't around. He waved to us. My mom came in and kissed him goodbye. Billie stayed in her sleeping bag, waving. I stepped onto the porch with my mom. We waved until he was no longer visible. Then, I came back in with Billie. She slid into her sleeping bag. She was barely visible in the bag. It swallowed her. I laid back down, facing her.

I sighed.

"Are you okay?" she asked.

"Yes, I just feel a little down when my dad leaves."

She popped her head out, and sat up, putting her hand on my shoulder. "It's okay," she said.

"Thanks."


We laid back down. My mom asked if we wanted to eat. We told her later. We fell asleep, facing each other. Later that day, we awoke to the smell of pancakes and bacon. We stretched and took turns going to the bathroom to freshen up. After we ate, we played outside, and then played a few video games. Billie seemed to be improving by the minute. She stayed over the entire day, eating dinner with us. Her mom came over to pick her up. I didn't want her to go, but I realized she had to go at some point. There wasn't school tomorrow so we begged our parents if Billie could stay one more night. Our mom's looked at one another. They went into another room to talk and laugh a little--at least that's what I heard.

They came back out and said I could stay over Billie's tonight.

"Yes," I said.

Billie and I slapped high five. I packed my things, hugged my mom goodbye, and left with Billie and her mom. We stayed up all night, again. Billie told me that she asked her mom for my home number. That's how she got it. I asked for her number. I wrote it on a piece of paper and stuck in my pajama pants pocket. She fell asleep first, again. I couldn't resist watching her. I sat up, pulling my legs to my chest, looking at her. Her mom waltzed into the living room in the middle of the night. "Javon what are you doing? Are you okay?" she asked.

"Oh yeah. I'm okay," I gave a nervous chuckle.

"Are you sure?" she asked.

"Yes," I slid into my bag.

She gave me a knowing smile, turned, and went upstairs.

The next day we hung out the entire day. I ate dinner with Billie and her mom. Her dad was traveling too. She and her mom walked me home. Billie and I gave each other a hug goodbye.


That night, I fell asleep with her sleeping face etched in my brain.


During class, Miss Dunlap asked us to stand up and tell what we did over the weekend. Billie looked nervous as she rubbed her arm, standing in front of the class, but Miss Dunlap told her that it would be okay. She looked at me the entire time. Then, I presented my weekend adventure.


"We already know, you hung out with Billie," said Deena.


"Deena," exclaimed Miss Dunlap.


"Sorry. Miss Dunlap. It's just that if Billie said she spent time with him. He obviously spent time with her," Deena pointed out.


"That's beside the point. Everyone gets to present. If you have a problem, we can discuss this in the principal's office," said Miss Dunlap.

Billie shook her head with disapproval.


During lunch, I sat with the guys. I watched Billie wave at her girlfriends, but she continued walking. She joined me and the guys. They gladly made room for her. They were smiling and talking to her. She fit right in talking to them like it was something she did all the time. She was so amazing. As I looked over at the girl's table, Jodie stuck her tongue out at me. I shook my head with a wide grin.


A month went by and we were spending every weekend together. Even when we were unable to have a sleepover, we would call each other and talk until late into the night.


Our mom's set up a playdate for us to go to the park together. I pushed Billie on the swing.

"Higher," she screamed.

I pushed her higher. Then I hopped on a swing to catch up with her. We kept swinging higher and higher until I caught up with her. We laughed. Billie looped her arms around the chain and clutched her stomach.

"Are you okay, Billie?" I asked.

"Yes." She squealed happily. We chuckled as we began to slow down on the swings. Then, we went over to the seesaw. I made sure she was on securely before I sat on my side. I didn't want her to fall off. She went up as I sat down. She pushed her weight down. I pushed my weight upward so she could go down. When her side hit the ground, a little boy shoved her off.

"My turn," he said.

I hopped off.

"Billie," I shouted. Without thinking, I pushed him to the ground. Then, I went over to Billie.

"Are you okay?" I held out my hand to her, helping her to her feet. I brushed the dirt off of her. Tears were falling from her eyes. I wiped them. "It's okay Billie."

I hugged her, looking back at the boy who lay on the ground stunned.

Billie said she wanted to go on the slide. I really wanted to leave after that, but she was adamant about staying and playing. So I didn't say a word to my parents. How could I do disappoint that smile she gave me. I held her hand, walking up the slide steps. When we went down the slide, I was behind her. I had to make sure to always protect her.


It was another day of school. The teacher passed out permission slips to a few students in the classroom. Billie was one of those people. She read it and looked at me in panic. She had pools of tears in her eyes. I leaned over and read it. It was letting her know that she qualified to go to an advanced math class. The class was next door. "That's great," I told her, trying not to mirror her expression, but my chest rose and fell, and my heart was beating fast. Even though I sad she was leaving, I wanted her to take that opportunity. She had to give it to her parents. Billie deserved to go. She aced every test and homework assignment she touched.

"I'll give it to my parents," she nodded, sliding it into her notebook.

Throughout the week, Miss Dunlap asked Billie to assist other students whenever she finished her classwork. She was always one of the first to finish. I was good at math, but Billie was great at it.

Then one day, I asked her about the permission slip.

"I still haven't talked to my parents yet," she said.

I nodded. I didn't want to be the reason for holding her back.


The week went on. I didn't ask her anything, but I assumed she spoke to her mom and dad. She would be in another class soon, I thought.


Friday rolled around, Billie was going through her notebook when the form slid out. I picked it up.

"Billie, what's this?" My eyebrows stitched together with confusion as I held it out to her.


"Um..." she took away it from me.


"Did you talk to your mom and dad?" I asked.


Tears fell from her eyes. "Don't cry, Billie," I rubbed her back.


Miss Dunlap noticed Billie's tears. "Oh, sweetie are you okay?"


Billie nodded.


"Come here sweetie," Miss Dunlap waved her up to the front of the class.

"Is he bothering you?" asked Miss Dunlap. Half the class turned and scowled at me.


"No. He's my best friend. He wouldn't do that," Her voice was so small, sweet, and teary. I wanted to comfort her. Wait. Did she say I was her best friend? That just melted my heart. Yes. She was my best friend too. We've spent so much time together. It was only natural to look at her that way. But I didn't realize it until that moment. Billie was my best friend. That was a great feeling. I had the greatest friend too. My stomach felt like it was doing flips. For some reason, I became emotional. I felt the tears well up in my eyes.

Miss Dunlap gave Billie the girl's room pass. I lay my head down on my arm, but I raised my other hand. I didn't want anyone to see my tears. Miss Dunlap called my name. I rubbed my face on my arm, then asked to go to the boy's room. Miss Dunlap waved me up to the front of the class and handed me the pass. I went into the hallway and ran into Billie. I walked up to her and hugged her.


"Billie, don't miss this opportunity. It's so good for you, okay."


She nodded and listened.


"I'm your friend. I want the best for you. This will help you. It will help challenge you.

You're not challenged in this class. Please do it." I said, still hugging her.


She squeezed me. "Okay."


"You promise," I said.


"I promise." She sniffled.

I pulled away from her. Tears were falling from our eyes.

"Don't cry, Billie," I wiped her tears and she wiped mine. We hugged again. Then, Miss Dunlap walked out.


"What are you two doing?" she asked, her eyes shifted from Billie to me.


We pulled apart abruptly. "Um...we were just talking about my math form," said Billie.


"Do you have it?" asked Miss Dunlap.


"I didn't tell my parents," Billie cried, holding her hands behind her back.

I covered my eyes with my hands.


"Why not sweetie?"


I peeked between my fingers to see Miss Dunlap looking at me.


Billie was silent.


"Did he tell you not to go?" asked Miss Dunlap. "Javon don't you want her to succeed?"


"No. Miss Dunlap. He didn't do it. He was telling me to do it. He thinks it's going to be good for me. He's my best friend. He wouldn't do that," said Billie


"Okay. I'm sorry, Javon."


I nodded.


"I'm gonna send your parents an email. I want them to know about this wonderful accomplishment."


"I'm gonna give them the form tonight," said Billie.


"Okay, but I'm still gonna shoot them an email," said Miss Dunlap.


Billie nodded, wiping her face.


"Oh, sweetie. It's okay. Why are you crying?"


She looked at me. I discreetly shook my head.


"I'm gonna miss this class," said Billie.


"We'll miss you too. Especially Javon," she looked at me knowingly. "But it's only one class and you'll come right back after that."


"Okay."


We all walked into the classroom together. The class was talking quietly when we returned.


That night, Billie and I studied together. Then, I stayed the night at her house. We were facing each other, laying in our sleeping bags, smiling at one other.


"You're my best friend too," I said.

She flashed that beautiful smile and my stomach felt like it took a dive.


"Thank you for being my friend, and for believing in me," she said.


"Of course."

We stared at one another until we fell asleep.


On Monday, Billie handed in her form to Miss Dunlap. I was so proud of her. I grabbed her hand and squeezed it.


We had to present our weekend ventures. Many people moaned when Billie and I told our stories. But Miss Dunlap didn't flinch. She seemed to enjoy our stories with a smile.


Before the snow fell, Billie's parents and mine decided to have a door installed on our connecting wooden fence between our yards. They reasoned that it would be easier to walk Billie home, and since we liked to play in the backyard, we could just go through the gate if we needed anything. Billie and I clasped hands with excitement from the news.


When the snow finally fell, Billie and I played outside in it. She looked so cute bundled up in her winter clothes. We had snowball fights and made a snowman. When we came inside, my mom had hot chocolate waiting for us. We would stay at each other's houses until it was time for bed during school nights. Then, I would walk her home through the backyard gate. My mom would watch us as I walked her. If I was at her house, I asked her to stay inside. I didn't want her to walk me home. I wanted her to stay inside the warm house. I assured her that I would be okay. Her mom watched me walk through the gate.

The gate made it so much easier to see her.


At school, we ended up sitting together at the end of a table. Sometimes, we sat next to each other. Other times we sat across from one another. The girls didn't bother us. I guess they gave up. We played together during recess too.


Billie went to her math class when it was time. But she was back sitting beside me when class ended.


One day, her mom showed us a picture of a little boy staring out a window at the rain. She asked us to write something about it. It could be anything we wanted to write about. She wanted us to use our imaginations. I knew what to write immediately, but I brainstormed with Billie. Eventually, she had an idea as well. Her mom started doing that every week. I loved it when she gave us writing prompts. It seemed to help me develop as a writer. It helped me to love it even more.

Over winter break, our families went on vacation together. We went to Legoland. We had such a good time that we made plans to go to Disney World over the summer. It was so wonderful. All of us were growing in friendship. Billie became family to us.


As the snow began to melt and the weather began to warm, me and Billie's bond continued to get stronger.


One night, after I walked Billie to the gate, I hugged her goodbye.

I went home, lie in bed, thinking about our day as I usually did. Then, I heard a tap against my window. I rolled out of my bed and looked out of it. I jumped and my eyes grew wide. 


It was Billie.




Archive
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect with me
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page