top of page
  • Skylar Nightingale

Mine Forever: The Beginning (Chapter 7)






Chapter 7 - Javon


Nine-Years-Old

Billie was in my class. When she walked through that door, I think my stomach was celebrating.  

Over the summer, we received our class information, but our parents decided to keep it away from me and Billie. They wanted it to be a surprise for us. Billie and I went back and forth with doubt because our parents would throw us off with comments like, "You can still see each other even if you're not in the same class." It was bittersweet torture as we waited and guessed in suspense. But the wait was finally over.


My eyes lit up as I stared at her with a wide grin. She was so cute with her flowery flowy dress and huge afro puff. She still looked younger than most people in the class. She sat beside me, smiling brightly. I smiled back. The teacher wrote her name on the board, Mrs. Ward. Then, she turned her chubby body around, asking everyone to introduce themselves. A couple people were in our class from last year--Deena and Amelia. They moaned when Billie stood up to introduce herself.

"My name is Billie Rose. I like to play video games with my best friend Javon," she directed her body to mine. I smiled and nodded. "I like math and hanging out with my best friend and my family."


Then, it was my turn. The moans came again.


"My name is Javon Allen," I pointed to myself. "I like hanging out with my best friend Billie Rose. We like to play with toys and video games and--"


Mrs. Ward looked at her roster. "Javon what do you like to do?" asked the teacher. "Not what do you and Billie like to do together."


"Okay, I like video games, hanging out with Billie, writing, singing, and hanging out with my family." I sat down quickly.


During math, Billie went to a different class. Arrangements were already in place since last year. I missed my brilliant friend. When she returned, we had language arts.


At recess, we went outside to play on the slide. We ran around, chasing one another. Then Deena came over, asking Billie to jump rope. Billie told her she wanted to play with me, causing my insides to gleam. We went to the storage area and pulled out the cars and trucks and started playing, but quickly grew tired of it, so we played a game of tag. Deena and a few other people wanted to play. Then, a couple of boys named Ryder and Everett joined in. I wanted to play with Billie by myself but we let them play.


"I'm it," I said, poking my chest out and pointing to it. I was the one who would chase everyone, trying to make them the next "it" person. We established a safe point, the bench. As long as the person getting chased were on the bench, I could not tag them. Whoever was not at the bench when I touched them, immediately became the "it" person. The first person I chased and caught was Billie. She squealed. Throughout the game, sometimes I would allow Billie to tag me. I placed my arm behind me and she would touch it. She went after Everett, catching him. It was his turn to chase us. We were running around when I heard Billie scream. I turned and saw his lanky arms wrapped around her back and her feet were dangling off the ground. What is he doing? He seemed to pick her up with ease. He was stronger than he looked.


I bolted over to them.


"You are so little. How much do you weigh?" he asked Billie.


Billie didn't answer, but her body was stiff as a board.


"Can you put her down please?" I asked, stooping, placing my hands on my knees, while catching my breath.


He placed her feet on the ground. "I'm not going to hurt your best friend."


"Thanks," I said, standing up straight.


"I bet you pick her up all the time, huh? Everett asked.


"No. She's not a baby."


Billie walked away.


"She's so cute," said Everett.


"Yeah, are we gonna finish playing?" I asked, not wanting him to talk about how cute Bille was.

"Sure." He gave a wry grin.


I looked over toward the bench where every player in the game was surrounding and touching it. I knew what that meant.


Everett tapped me on the arm. It was my turn to chase everyone. Before I began, I noticed Billie was missing. I looked around, spotting her jumping rope.


I kept playing tag, happy that she was smiling.

When school ended, my mom picked us up from school. Billie spent the day with us. She told me about her day in math and I told her about mine. We compared notes. Then did our homework.


The next day, Everett sat in front of Billie in class. He looked back, giving her a smirk. She smiled back, then smiled at me. I covered my eyes, thinking...this can't be good.


We played on the swings for recess. I pushed her. Then, Everett sat in the swing next to her. He pumped his legs with the same momentum as her. I sat in the swing on the other side of her. When she jumped off, my stomach dropped with fear.


"Billie?"


"I'm okay." She stood up and laughed.


"You're cool," said Everett from the swing. Then, he jumped off. "You wanna play with the cars and trucks?" asked Everett.


"Yeah," she said.


What was happening? That was our thing.


As I slowly walked over to them, Amelia sauntered over to me.


"Oh. He took your best friend."


"No, he didn't," I said, with a sinking feeling in my stomach.


"Yes he did," she chuckled and walked away.


I went to sit next to them on the bench. Billie gave me a car. I was grateful she included me in their fun. I could only beam from her action.


The next day, Everett sat next to me and Billie during lunch. He was talking to her, asking her questions. When they were finished eating, he grabbed her wrist, pulling her outside. She waved goodbye to me. I sat there sighing. Deena sat across from me. "She's got a new friend, Javon. Face it."


"Yup." I nodded, hating to admit it.

I went outside. Was I really losing her?


I strolled over to the bench. She gave me a car again. "No Javon we're already playing," said Everett.


"It's okay Everett. He can play," said Billie.


"No. We already started. He's gonna mess it up."


"I want him to play," said Billie, challenging him.


"I want us to play," said Everett.


"I'll go," I said with my head hung low.

"No Javon." She hopped off the bench and walked over to me. "I want you to play." She hugged me. I hugged her back. My heart banged loud and fast.


Her expression assured me that I wasn't losing her, so I didn't mind her playing with Everett. "I'll play with you after school."


She nodded.


I went to play basketball, looking at her every now and then.

***


While we were eating snacks at my house, she told me about recess. "I think I like playing with Everett."


I smirked, at her . "Cool."

"He asked me to come over for a playdate."


"Really?" I said through wide shocked eyes. He was really trying to win Billie over.


"Yup. I don't want to go, though. Plus, I don't think my parents would want me to go. They don't know him."


I wondered what he had up his sleeve next.


Everett sat beside her at lunch, asking if they could have a playdate at the park. I sat and listened, eating my apple. Billie looked at me. I shrugged, knowing he wasn't going to give up.


"I have to ask my parents," said Billie.


"Okay," he smiled brightly.


When we got to my house, she told me she really didn't want to have a playdate with him.


"Why did you tell him about asking your parents, Billie?"


"I didn't want to be mean."


"Okay, what're you gonna do?"

"I don't know. I can't tell him that. It's not nice."


I took a deep breath. "You want me to do it?"


"Please?" She clasped her fingers together, batting her long lashes. How can I say no to that?


"Alright. But he's really gonna hate it coming from me."


At lunch, the next day, I relayed the message to him.


"Yeah, right. You just don't want anyone to hang out with Billie. She can have other friends, ya know," Elliot sneered. I looked at Billie.


"He's right. I just want to hang out at school," Billie said to Everett.


"Why?" Everett looked at her sadly.


She looked down. My poor Billie. I knew she didn't want to hurt him. She leaned against me.


"You should go," I whispered in her ear, trying to encourage her to play with him.


"Will you come?" she whispered into my ear.


"Uh," I scratched my head. "If you want me to."


She smiled. "Okay, I'll ask my parents. But I want Javon to come," she said.


"Okay," he smiled.


After school, I walked her home. She told me she was going to talk to her parents about the playdate. I didn't stick around.


I would hear about it when she was ready to tell me.

She called me, telling me that the play date was going to take place. I spoke to my parents and they made arrangements with Billie's family. I was going to ride to the park with her.


"I'm not going to hang out with you guys okay. I think he wants to hang out with you by himself," I said.


"No. I'm not going then," she said, folding her arms.


"Billie, just play with him. He wants to be your friend."


"Okay." She sighed.


After school, I over went to Billie's house. We studied our spelling words and ate dinner.


The weekend swooped in faster than I expected. It was time to go to the park with Billie and Everett. I think there was a hint of hesitancy swirling around in my stomach. At least I think that was hesitancy. I just hoped he would not try to pick her up or do anything to accidentally hurt her. At the same time, I wondered how Billie was feeling. I called her. "H-Hi Javon," she stammered.


"Hey, Billie are you okay?"

"I-I'm okay," I could hear her forcing out a smile in her voice, but she was nervous. I didn't want her to feel that way. I wanted her to be happy.


"It's okay. Just have fun, and I'll be there. I promise I won't let anything happen to you."


"Okay, Javon. Thanks." Her voice sounded a little brighter--making me grin.







Archive
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Connect with me
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page