top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSkylar

An Unexpected Kind by Angela K. Parker


BOOK DETAILS:

An Unexpected Kind  by Angela K. Parker Publication date: June 11th 2018 Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Description:

Bradley

I used to think that love was for the weak. It was not something that would ever tie me down.

Until I learned the truth behind my resistance.

When I let down my guard, I wasn’t expecting to find love. Samantha’s voice called for my attention before I ever met her. Now my heart is in need. My heart wants her. And I will do whatever it takes to make it happen.

Samantha

All I ever wanted was to be loved. Until love crushed my heart into a million pieces.

I built a wall tough enough that no one could ever get that close again.

But Bradley isn’t just anyone. I’m not prepared for all that he is. He’s searching for something that I don’t think I can give. The more I try to deny him the harder it becomes. He’s going to tear my wall down. And I’m torn because… I wasn’t looking for love. Love found me.


 

Samantha and Bradley’s backstories filled the pages of this book. It gave a glimpse into their lives, helping the reader to understand the choices that each character made. Let’s get into it!


Bradley kept his distance from people because his dad left when he was only fourteen. He picked up the slack that his dad had left behind. When his dad returned, he lost respect for him. That experience changed his life and affected the decisions he made. He met a girl named Valerie, but their relationship is platonic. They were a listening ear to one another, but the information that they shared was limited. However, I felt something was brewing between them. 


Samantha’s mom died while giving birth to her. She blamed herself for her mom’s death, which affected her decision making. Her family shared stories and pictures with her and that motivated her to want to be like her mom. Since her mom was an athlete, Samantha joined the swimming team and became team captain. She was also extremely smart. She had a crush on one of the most popular guys in school, Garrett. She reasoned he could never like a girl like her. One day after math class ended, she and Garrett were asked to stay behind by their math teacher. That’s when her math teacher asked her to join the tutoring program and to tutor Garrett in math. What do you think her decision is going to be? What would you decide?


I disliked that this story ended so abruptly. Since it ended with a cliffhanger, I needed to feel more intensity toward the end, so I would be more inclined to read the next book. Unfortunately, it felt like the story was dropped. 


There were some notable points as well. Overall, this is a cute story. It held my interest, it was well written, and the world building through backstory was noteworthy.


3 Stars

12 views0 comments
bottom of page